The Big Man has a Plan (Let Go & Let God)

Whatever you are going through in your life know that you are not alone…

We all have those days where we want to throw our hands in the air and ask God “Why?–why me?” In fact I had one of those days a few weeks ago. A friend called to tell me that one of our friends was called home to the good Lord. I was immediately in tears and thought it couldn’t be, because he was such a good guy. He was so young and had his whole life ahead of him, he loved his family, farming and put his faith first. We may never know why, but for now we know he is watching from above and will be our guardian angel. That night after I found out the terrible news I was still pretty sad and so I went for a drive to Walmart to get a steno before leaving for a judging trip the next day and as I got in my vehicle the song “Die a happy man was playing” and the lyrics really hit me and the next song was “Tonight I wanna cry” and I started to tear up because God sure works in mysterious ways and I could hear him telling me that everything would be okay because he has a plan.

“Cast your cares on the LORD and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken” (Psalm 55:22)

With that, I once again find myself pondering life and how fragile it truly is. Every day is a gift from God and my goal is to live each day to the fullest and I challenge you to do the same. I know we all say this, but now is the time to follow through…not tomorrow or the next day…right now. You never know what life might throw at you and the big man upstairs has a plan. You may think your life isn’t where you want it to be but I promise it is right where God wants it to be. You may not understand now but trust God’s purpose. Don’t stress over the little things, instead rejoice and appreciate those things. Take a moment to tell someone how much they mean to you, call a friend you haven’t talked to in a while, drop a note in the mail, or even buy a random persons coffee. It is amazing how much more happy you will be if you realize that although you are in control of your life ultimately God is the one with the plan, and if you just live for the moment instead of continuously racing to the next you might enjoy life a little more.

On a similar note, I have also come to the conclusion in life that there is no such thing as perfect and while we may look around and be jealous of others, I am sure that their life is far from perfect whether you see it from the outside or not. So, why worry about what others think of you— there is no reason to please everyone. We all face our own battles and if there was one thing in this world I wish I could do, that would be to make everyone happy and healthy. We all wish for a lot of things but sometimes we just need to let go and let God.

IMG_6511

I often wonder where God is taking me in this life and what he has in store for my future, but whatever that may be I am assured that he knows best. So as you face the week ahead and find yourself struggling, take a moment and reach out to someone, and remember God is always listening.

“Sing praise to the lord. You holy one of his. Give thanks to his holy name. For his anger is but for a moment. his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may stay for the night, but joy comes in the morning. As for me, I said in my prosperity, “I shall never be moved.” {Psalm 30:4-6}

Leave a comment